THE POWER OF APPRECIATION: A 3-part Blog Series


flower

Part 1 – Love ‘em, or Lose ‘em

When I first started dating, my father told me, “don’t ever take a good girl for granted, or  else  someday someone will come along and appreciate what you didn’t.” And I remember  it. Since I met my wife,  I’ve spent the last 12+ years working to help her fall in love with me again every day. We  stick by those who value and appreciate us and we are wise to very quickly leave those who  don’t.

It got me thinking, if we want to hold on to more great employees, are we doing all we can to help them fall in love with us as a company every day? And could that be the simple key to taking a company to the next level?

IMPACTS ON ATTRITION, ENGAGEMENT, AND PERFORMANCE

According to a 2014 study by the American Psychological Association, employees who feel valued were more likely to report feeling engaged, motivated, and less likely to say they were looking to leave. And it didn’t stop there. There were also strong links to how people viewed the other parts of their job including compensation, involvement in decision making, and opportunities for growth and development.

 *percentage of respondents who agreed with the following statements Feel valued Do not feel valued Variance
I am motivated to do my very best for my employer 91% 37% -54%
I am enthusiastic about my job 52% 21% -31%
My job inspires me 41% 8% -32%
I have plans to look for another job in the next year 19% 53% +34%
Overall, I am satisfied with my job 92% 29% -63%

 

And here is the kicker for you NPS (Net Promoter Score) fans

 *percentage of respondents who agreed with the following statements Feel valued Do not feel valued Variance
I would recommend my workplace to others as a good place to work 85% 15% -70%

 

A recent New York Times article indicates an even greater disparity, “Employees who say they have more supportive supervisors are 1.3 times as likely to stay with the organization and are 67 percent more engaged.” When the costs of losing someone (both tangible and intangible) exceed the value of a position’s annual salary by as much as 50%, we could save $millions simply by appreciating each other more.

So how are you helping your coworkers fall in love with your company each day? We fall in love with the little stuff, the daily expressions that show people we care. If you haven’t told someone they matter today, tomorrow you may realize just how much they did.

Leave a Reply

